Day two - Reisverslag uit Blackpool, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Stan Wetten - WaarBenJij.nu Day two - Reisverslag uit Blackpool, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Stan Wetten - WaarBenJij.nu

Day two

Door: Stan van Wetten

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Stan

29 April 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Blackpool

Just yesterday I arrived in Blackpool, Rob gave me a city tour and showed me his house etc. The day before yesterday my family and I went to Brussels for a day, because Charleroi is close to Brussels and my plane departed from Charleroi. We stayed overnight in a hotel. My flight was at 9:20, but I had to check in two hours before departure. When the plane finally took off I just plugged my ear buds in and listened to some music. The plane landed after a bit, I thought the plane took a pit stop or something, because I expected the trip to be longer. Fortunately I was already in Manchester, where I had some minor troubleshooting with border control. They needed some secure info about my stay since I’m not 18 yet, nothing much really.

Rob picked my up at the airport, he is a really nice guy, very polite and he explains me everything and stuff. Blackpool as city is very touristic, it’s like a medium city in size. There are loads of things to do with your leisure time. Rob told me that in the summer, lots of people visit it. I discovered that its popularity peeked somewhere in the fifties or sixties. He also took me shopping when I said that I might have a lack of formal clothes. In the evening I joined him and his friends for a game of football. The people here really love football, at Rob’s house there nearly always football on the telly.

Today Rob took me with him to his work, where I’m currently writing this. He showed me around and explained me what they actually do. Basically they handle stuff like the improvement of public places, demolition of old buildings (to make room for new ones) and the restoration of damaged ones. They make sure the projects run okay. These people send other people to fix it, they’re something like supervisors. I also joined a staff meeting and just sat there listning to the progress of their projects. I got to play with the sketch-programme they use to design buildings, one of the architectual engenieers explained me how to use it and I got plenty of opportunity to doodle somethings, I spent most of it recreating my living room (at home).

Blackpool is in the north-west of England, not a long drive away from Scotland, they have a though accent (a combination of Manchester’s and Liverpool’s as they’ve told me). Rob talks slower to me so I have time to decrypt the accent and that’s okay, but when he talks to his parents I have to pay attention to understand what they are saying, I can understand it, but only if I stop with what I’m doing haha. It has been great fun so far. I’ll guess I can only see what the rest of the trip will bring me, he planned to visit two football matches with me and possibly a day to a theme park, so that’s cool. Tonight's programme mainly consists of Champions League : ).

Bye

  • 30 April 2014 - 02:31

    Julia Mars:

    Soms, als je geluk hebt, kom je in Engeland een wilde Matt Smith, David Tennant, Christopher Eccleston, of met een beetje geluk zelfs wel een Peter Capaldi tegen... De grootste kans loop je in de underground in Londen. Succes met de jacht

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Blackpool

Stan

Actief sinds 14 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 129
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2475

Voorgaande reizen:

28 April 2014 - 09 Mei 2014

Buitenlandsstage

Landen bezocht: